SketchUp Subscriptions

SketchUp subscriptions come in three flavors: SketchUp Go, SketchUp Pro, and SketchUp Studio. Each includes some standard features and applications with functionality specific to your needs at an affordable price.

Here are some common questions (with answers!) you might have about your subscription:

How many SketchUp Subscriptions are there to choose from?

Three. SketchUp Go, SketchUp Pro and SketchUp Studio.

How do I access my subscription?

You can access your subscription by logging into your SketchUp account linked to your Trimble ID. Each user account can only be associated with one individual person, or as we call it a "named user." You cannot create a generalized user account that is shared by more than one person. You also cannot create more than one user account per person.

What is the subscription term?

Our subscriptions are annual. When your subscription begins you're entitled to use all the features contained within your chosen SketchUp Subscription for one full year. If we decide to change our subscription terms, we'll make sure to let you know.

When will my SketchUp subscription expire?

SketchUp subscriptions are set to auto-renew every year on the date of your initial purchase. If you disable auto-renew, you will lose access to your subscription products and services on that renewal date.

What happens if I cancel my subscription?

When you sign up for a subscription you'll prepay for the full term of your annual subscription. If you do not want to pay for an additional year you can disable auto renewal. You will be able to use the applications in your subscription for the remainder of your annual term. There are no partial refunds if you stop using your subscription before the end of the term.

How do I opt out of automatic renewals?

We offer two ways for you to opt out of automatic renewal of your subscription:

  • At any time prior to your renewal date you can opt out from the Plan Settings section of your account. See this article for step-by-step instructions.
  • Notify Trimble in writing at least 30 days before the expiration of your subscription.

Can subscriptions be transferred to other users?

Subscriptions are intended for use by a single named user for the duration of the subscription term, without ability to re-assign except in following permitted circumstances:

  • If a seat is inadvertently assigned to the wrong end user at time of purchase;
  • If a seat is initially assigned to an employee of your company, and such end user leaves your company during the subscription term, then you may re-assign such seat once during the subscription term; and
  • At the time of subscription renewal, you may re-assign a seat.

Are there computer or device limitations?

SketchUp limits installations of each application included in a subscription to two computers and/or devices. If you wish to transfer an application to a different computer or device, you should sign out of the application before installing the application in a new location and signing in. If you don't have access to those other devices, you can always deauthorize all devices and sign in on your new device.

Can I get a refund if I choose to cancel my subscription?

You have 14 days from the date of purchase to request a full refund for your SketchUp subscription. After 14 days, you cannot obtain a refund. To request a refund for your SketchUp subscription, contact the Customer Support team. Disabling auto renewal of your subscription is not a request for a refund.

I already own Classic SketchUp Pro. Do I get access to the Pro subscription as well?

No. SketchUp subscriptions are independent of SketchUp Pro classic license purchases, and the SketchUp Maintenance and Support Plan does not cover support for any of the subscriptions.

Which versions do you support for Classic SketchUp Pro customers?

SketchUp desktop products will become unsupported on January 31st of the third year after the product's release year. For example, SketchUp 2020's End of Support date is January 31, 2023. For more information, see our End of Support Policy article.

Is there a trial available for a SketchUp Subscription?

Yes! The SketchUp trial we've always offered is now a trial of SketchUp Studio and includes ALL of the features included in that package. If you only wish to try out SketchUp Pro for Desktop or SketchUp Web's paid features, you can still do that with your SketchUp Studio trial.

If I save my files to the cloud, what happens if I decide to stop paying my subscription fees?

You can always access your files after canceling your subscription using SketchUp Free, with one exception. If you exceed Trimble Connect's free quota of 10gb of stored data all of your files will be set to read-only. This will also restrict usage of Sketchup web by preventing you from saving new files. To download your files and store them locally, sign into Trimble Connect.

What is your Refund Policy?

Customers can request a refund within 14 days of purchasing. Please note that canceling your subscription WILL NOT automatically result in a refund request being sent to our team. Please contact our support team directly to request a refund.