Skip to Content
Help

General

Last updated: Oct 21, 2026•3 min read.

The General tab contains categories that have options to adjust SketchUp’s basic functionality.

preferences general window

Saving

Saving provides the following file management options:

  • Create backup is on by default. When enabled, SketchUp automatically creates a backup file of the previous saved version of a model anytime you create a new save file. Backup files use the .skb file type on Windows, add a ~ in the file name on Mac, and save in the same location as the .skp file. A backup will not be created until the second time you save a model.

  • Auto-save is on by default and set to 5 minutes. At the designated interval, SketchUp will save all changes to your model in a temporary file. These temporary files will persist after crashes and will appear as Recovered in the Welcome window. SketchUp deletes temporary files when you exit SketchUp. Auto-save does NOT automatically save to the same file you opened, and is no substitute for saving early and often.

  • Ask to purge at save is on by default. As you model, you may end up having a lot of unused entities in your model. Even when deleted, the definition for these entities remains and can add to your model’s file size, affecting performance. When enabled, SketchUp will ask you each time you manually save your model if you want to purge all unused entities.

Check for Problems

Check for Problems tells SketchUp what to do when a problem occurs with your model:

  • Automatically fix problems when they are found is on by default. SketchUp will check for problems anytime you open a model, when auto-saving, or when you manually save a model.

  • Notify me when problems are fixed is not on by default. When selected, anytime SketchUp fixes an error, a warning message will appear letting you know your model has been updated.

Messages

Performing certain actions may cause a warning message to appear. Each message contains an option  to not to show that particular message again. 

  • Clicking Reset All Warning Messages will cause these messages to appear even if you previously dismissed them. 

  • Turning on Show only urgent notifications limits the messages shown to only critical warnings.

Software Updates

  • Allow checking for updates is enabled by default. When enabled, this option, SketchUp checks for updates anytime you are connected to the internet.

Welcome Window

  • Show Welcome Window is enabled by default. When selected, SketchUp opens the Welcome Window at startup. The Welcome Window can help you find your recovered files if SketchUp crashes, make it easier to choose a new template, and access your recently modified files. You can always access the Welcome Window by selecting Help > Welcome to SketchUp.

  • Show when last model closes is enabled by default. If you close the last open modeling tab, you’ll see the Welcome Window.

Thumbnail Previews

  • Show Scene & Model Preview is enabled by default and shows a thumbnail when you hover over a scene or model tab.

3D Warehouse

  • Close 3D Warehouse after download is not enabled by default, making sure that 3D Warehouse remains open after you download an entity into your model. When enabled, the 3D Warehouse window will close automatically after you download an entity.