Skip to Content
Help

Collaborating in SketchUp for iPad

Last updated: 9月 1, 20262 分钟 read.

SketchUp’s collaboration features let you share 3D models with anyone—even non-SketchUp users. Collaborators can be invited using private or public links, allowing them to inspect designs, measure components, view specific scenes, leave comments, or stream real-time edits directly in their browser without downloading software or creating an account. 

Collaborators interact with your model through a streamlined version of SketchUp for Web. You can keep working with it in SketchUp for iPad. 

Access permissions are fully customizable. Permissions can be adjusted based on whether external collaborators need full model exploration access or basic viewing controls.You can revoke access at any point. 

For information on how to share models and the permissions you can give collaborators, see Sharing a Model.

Collaboration in SketchUp for iPad

In SketchUp for iPad, the Collaboration Toolbar appears in the upper right of the model window.

image su ipad collab toolbar magnified

The toolbar includes: 

  • Avatars of the collaborators currently viewing your model

  • Visibility controls for the model’s owner

  • Share option

Clicking a collaborator's avatar changes your point of view to that person’s view. The visibility controls allow you to adjust how collaborators appear to each other in the model. For more information on how this works, see Real Time Viewing

Clicking Share on the Collaboration Toolbar opens up a modal where you can: 

  • Adjust collaborator permissions

  • Copy a link to invite others to collaborate

  • Change your share settings

image su ipad sharing modal

Unlike SketchUp for Desktop, the Collaboration Toolbar doesn’t contain a comments icon. In SketchUp for iPad, comments get their own panel. The Comments panel is where you can add your own comments or locate and review comments left by others.

image su web ipad commenting modal

When you invite others to collaborate with you on a model, SketchUp generates a private link for individual users you invite or a public link accessible to everyone. Based on the level of access you give them, users can open and view your model without logging in or installing any applications. 

For more information on sharing a model and how invited collaborators can interact with your model, see Collaborate in SketchUp.