• Summary of issue An issue was discovered with SketchUp 2016 where uninstalling the program resets your default Internet browser. This issue only affected computers using Microsoft Windows that had SketchUp 2016 installed and then uninstalled. Description

  • When you install plugins, or "Ruby scripts," or "extensions," on your computer, you may notice that the tool doesn't appear in the 'Plugins' menu. Please note that the author of the plug-in must explicitly choose to put it in this menu. The plug-in may reside in a different menu, such as 'Tools' or 'Draw.' Sometimes, you will only see the plug-in in a context menu - the menu that appears when you right-click on something. Be sure to read any documentation related to the plug-in to fully understand its use.

  • If you are getting an error that says "This application has been authorized" when attempting to log into any of the SketchUp websites (forums, 3DWarehouse, Extension Warehouse), most likely the solution is to change your internet browser's security settings to allow cookies from 3rd party websites.

  • This error message can occur if your computer appears to be on the network more than once (in other words, it appears on the network under multiple IP addresses). The most common cause of this is that your computer has both a wired and wireless local area connection. It's easy to check whether this is the case and, if it is, to correct it:

  • This message will appear when the total instances of SketchUp Pro running is more than the total number of seats available for the license. Let's say, for example, you have a three-seat network license and three instances of SketchUp Pro are running. This message will appear when someone tries to launch a fourth instance of SketchUp Pro. To purchase additional network seats please visit our online store.

  • The trial version of SketchUp Pro is actually the same as the full version, but without the license. After purchasing a license, we automatically send your license to the email address you provided. Please check your spam folder, as the email may end up there. Your license information will appear in the following format: Windows Registered User Name: Company / Organization: Serial Number: Authorization Number: Mac User Name: Serial Number: Key:

  • When the eight-hour SketchUp Pro trial expires, you can choose to convert SketchUp to the free version. If you would like to reactivate the Pro features, you can purchase a license through our online store. When you receive your license after purchasing, check out our authorization instructions.

  • Situation: you are using a network version of SketchUp Pro on a PC, and when you start it, this message is displayed: The server.dat specifies a SketchUp license file that does not exist or is not currently accessible: \\ServerName\ServerFolder\SketchUp#.lf. This message can be displayed for two reasons. To figure out which reason applies, try to browse to the license folder and view the SketchUp#.lf file:

  • For further details on the message "SketchUp is unable to validate my license file (PC)", please click on the appropriate version of the error message below:

  • Summary of issue You may not be able to see SketchUp file thumbnails on Windows if SketchUp 20152016 was previously uninstalled. Description When SketchUp 20152016 is uninstalled and a new different, default version of SketchUp is set, the SketchUp file thumbnails may disappear even after reinstalling the latest version of SketchUp. Workaround