File menu (Windows)

The File menu contains items that relate to SketchUp model files, including commands to create, open, save, print, import, and export model files.

New

The New menu item is used to close the current document and create a blank drawing area to begin a new SketchUp model. You will be prompted to save your changes if you have not saved changes to the current model before selecting the New menu item. Sketchup will use the settings in the template file to define the initial model state if you have selected a template file in the template panel under Window > Preferences.

Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+N

Open*

Use the Open menu item to launch the Open dialog box, allowing you to open a previously saved SketchUp file. You will be prompted to save your changes if an unsaved model is already open because only one file can be open at a time.

Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+O

Save*

Use the Save menu item to save the currently active SketchUp model to your file system. When you close an unsaved document, or attempt to quit SketchUp with unsaved open documents, SketchUp will prompt you to save your work before continuing.

Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+S

Tip: If Create Backup is enabled within the General panel of the preferences dialog box, the existing file will be converted to a backup file (.skb), and the new drawing will be saved in place of that currently existing file (.skp). The Create Backup option can help preserve your data in the event of an accidental removal of a .skp file. Backup files are saved in the My Documents (Microsoft Windows) or Library/Application Support/Google Sketchup 6/SketchUp/Autosave (Mac OS X) folder, by default.


Tip: It is good to save often. You can have SketchUp automatically save for you at a specific time increment by enabling the Auto-save option within the General panel of the Preferences dialog box.


Save As*

Use the Save As menu item to open the Save As dialog box which defaults to the current document's folder. You can use this dialog box to save the current drawing as a new document. This file can be assigned a new name, a new location, and a previous version of SketchUp. The new file will become the current file in the drawing window.

Save A Copy As*

Use the Save A Copy As menu item to save a new file based on your current model. This menu item does not overwrite or close the current file and is useful for saving incremental copies or tentative schemes of your work.

Save As Template

Use the Save As Template menu item to save the current SketchUp file as a template. This menu item launches a dialog box where you can name the template and set the template as the default template (to be loaded every time you launch SketchUp).

Revert

Use the Revert menu item to revert your current document to its last saved state.

Send to LayOut

Use the Send to LayOut menu item to send the current model to LayOut.

Preview in Google Earth

Use the Preview in Google Earth menu item to quickly view your model in Google Earth while working on the model.

Geo-location

The Geo-location submenu contains menu items for Geo-locating your models.

Add Location...

Use the Add Location menu item to display the Add Location dialog box for selecting a location for your model. This menu item is only available when a location has not been added.

Clear Location

Use the Clear Location menu item to remove the location from your model.

Show Terrain

Use the Show Terrain menu item to toggle the Google Earth snapshot image between a 2D and 3D image.

3D Warehouse

The 3D Warehouse submenu contains menu items for accessing the 3D Warehouse repository of models.

Get Models

Use the Get Models menu item to download a model from the 3D Warehouse.

Share Model

Use the Share Model menu item to post your SketchUp model file and corresponding KML file to the 3D Warehouse. The 3D Warehouse is a repository where models can be shared with other Google Earth or SketchUp users.

Upload Component

Use the Upload Model button to post the currently selected component to the 3D Warehouse.

Export

Use the Export submenu to access SketchUp's export functionality, which is useful for sharing your work with other people or exporting your drawings for use in other applications. You can export your SketchUp model as a 3D model, a 2D graphic, section slice, or animation.

3D Model

Use the 3D Model menu item to export you SketchUp file to 3D formats, such as KMZ files.

Additional file formats are available for export using SketchUp Pro.

2D Graphic

Use the 2D Graphic menu item to export 2D bitmap and dimensionally accurate, resolution independent, 2D vector drawings. Pixel-based images can be exported in JPEG, PNG, Epix, BMP, TGA, and TIFF file formats.

Vector images can be exported in PDF, EPS, DWG, and DXF file formats. This option makes it easy to send your SketchUp files to a plotter, quickly integrate them into construction documentation, or further modify your models using vector-based illustration software. Note that vector output formats may not support certain display options, such as shadows, transparency, and textures.

Section Slice

Use the Export 2D Section Slice menu item to output dimensionally accurate 2D section slices in standard vector formats.

Animation

Use the Animation menu item to export a pre-rendered animation file containing the scene sequence you have created. This option makes it easy to archive your animations to CD or DVD and to create smooth animations of complex models.

Import

Use the Import menu to import information from other files into your SketchUp drawings.

Print Setup

Use the Print Setup menu item to access to the print setup dialog box. This dialog box is used to select and configure printer and scene properties for printing.

Print Preview

Use the Print Preview menu item to preview your model as it will appear on paper (using the print setup settings).

Print

The Print menu item opens the standard Print dialog box. This dialog box enables you to print the current model in SketchUp's drawing area to the currently selected printer.

Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+P

Generate Report

The Generate Report menu item is used to generate a report of all attributes contained in a dynamic component.

(Recently Opened File List)

The (Recently Opened File List) menu item lists recently opened SketchUp files. Select a file from this list to open the file.

Exit

The Exit menu item closes the current file and the SketchUp application window. SketchUp will notify you to save your file if it has not been saved since the last change.

= Functionality only available in SketchUp Pro

* Problem Detection

Minor problems can occur with your model given the infinite flexibility that SketchUp provides when designing in 3D. You likely will not notice anything different in your model, except that it will perform better, after these problems are fixed.

SketchUp checks all files for problems when they are opened and saved if the Automatically check models for problems check box is checked in the General Panel of the Application Preferences. SketchUp displays a dialog box allowing you to fix problems if they are found. This dialog box has three options: Always fix my models, Fix it now, and Fix it later. We recommend you click on the Always fix my models button in this dialog box to fix the problem. This button also checks the Automatically fix problems when they are found checkbox in the General Panel of the Application Preferences. This preferences option causes SketchUp to automatically fix problems without user intervention. Refer to the Automatically fix problems when they are found option for further information.

SketchUp will check your model for unrecoverable errors during Open, Save, Save As, and Save A Copy As, preventing the overwriting of a good auto-save file. Sketchup will display a dialog box in the rare case that unrecoverable errors are found in your model. This dialog box contains the option to quit SketchUp and send a report. We recommend you click on the quit SketchUp and send report button to terminate SketchUp and preserve your previously valid auto-save file. This report contains valuable information regarding the unrecoverable errors.