Moving network licenses

Moving network licenses

To move a license file to a new server or shared folder:

  1. On only one workstation, browse to the appropriate folder and rename the server.dat file to server.dat.bak.
    SketchUp 8 and previous - C:\Program Files\Google\Google SketchUp #\
    SketchUp 2013 and newer - C:\ProgramData\SketchUp\SketchUp #\
  2. Start SketchUp.
  3. When the Welcome window opens, click the Add License button. If the Welcome window doesn't open, start using SketchUp and click Help > License > Authorize.
  4. Open the license confirmation email that you received shortly after purchasing your license.
  5. Copy and paste your User Name, Serial Number, and Autorization Number into the dialog box.
  6. Click OK.
  7. When you are asked for the location of the license file, browse to and select the license folder on the new server or folder. This creates a new license file named SketchUp#.lf in the folder, as well as a new pointer file named server.dat on the local workstation.
  8. Delete any other older SketchUp#.lf from any server or shared folder other than the new server or folder; however, do not delete the SketchUp#.lf file from any workstation.
  9. Make a copy of the new server.dat file on the local workstation, and paste it into the appropriate folder on all of your other SketchUp workstations.
    SketchUp 8 and previous - C:\Program Files\Google\Google SketchUp #\
    SketchUp 2013 and newer - C:\ProgramData\SketchUp\SketchUp #\