Editing a model in 3D Warehouse

You can edit and replace any of your models in the 3D Warehouse. Or, you can edit and then upload the new version of the model based on the previous version of the model.

Editing and replacing one of your models in the 3D Warehouse

3D Warehouse recognizes duplicate models meaning that you can edit a local copy of any model (that already exists in the 3D Warehouse) and upload it without providing any additional information. To edit and replace a model in the 3D Warehouse (assuming you have a copy on your computer):

  1. Open the model in SketchUp.
  2. Edit the model in SketchUp.
  3. Select File > 3D Warehouse > Share Model. A "Sign in" page appears.
  4. Note: You must have a Google Account to upload models to the 3D Warehouse. Your Google Account login information is the same as your login for any Google product, including iGoogle, Gmail, Picasa Web Albums and Google Docs. If you haven't created an account yet, you can do so on the Accounts page.
  5. If you're logged in already you'll see a permission request screen. You can sign out of that account and sign into a different account. If you're not signed in, enter your Google Account email address in the 'Email' field and your password in the 'Password' field.
  6. Click the Sign In button. This will bring up a 'SketchUp is requesting permission' dialog.
  7. Click Allow access to proceed. The 3D Warehouse associates the previous model with the updated model. The Sign in page closes and the "Upload your model to 3D Warehouse page" is displayed with all the previous model revision's information.
  8. Make any changes to the model's information.
  9. Click on the Upload button to upload your model to the 3D Warehouse. Your model is uploaded and the 3D Warehouse Model Details page appears.
Note: You cannot replace someone else's model in the 3D Warehouse.

Editing and uploading a model based on a previous model

To edit and upload a model based on a previous model:

  1. Locate and download the model you want to edit from the 3D Warehouse. The model appears as a component in the currently opened SketchUp file. The 3D Warehouse does not associate this component with any model in the 3D Warehouse.
  2. Make your changes to the component.
  3. Select File > 3D Warehouse > Share Model. A "Sign in" page appears.
  4. Note: You are already signed into a Google Account if the "Upload your model to 3D Warehouse" page appears instead of the Sign in page. The name of the account appears at the top-right of the page. You can sign out of that account and sign in to a different account. Then click the back arrow in the upper-left corner to return to the "Upload your model to 3D Warehouse" page.
  5. Enter your Google Account username in the 'Username' field.
  6. Enter your Google Account password in the 'Password' field.
  7. Click the Sign In button. The Sign in page closes and the Upload your model to 3D Warehouse page is displayed.
  8. Fill in the "Upload your model to 3D Warehouse" page. Refer to "Uploading a model to the 3D Warehouse" for further information.
  9. Click on the Upload button to upload your model to the 3D Warehouse. Your model is uploaded and the 3D Warehouse Model Details page appears.