How Can We Help?

Erasing and Undoing

In SketchUp, you can correct mistakes with the Undo command or the Eraser.

The Undo command reverses your most recent action. For example:

  • If you draw a line and then Undo it, the line will disappear.
  • If you select a detailed facade to copy it with the Move tool but accidentally stretch it instead, do not mourn the loss of your detailed selection. Undo can rectify the problem instantly.

To Undo, select Edit > Undo Whatever You Just Did from the menu bar, as shown in the figure. The official keyboard shortcut for Undo is Alt+Backspace. However, Ctrl+Z (Microsoft Windows) or Command+Z (Mac OS X), which is the Undo keyboard shortcut in many programs, also works.

After you undo an action, you can redo it by selecting Edit > Redo from the menu bar.

The Eraser deletes selected geometry. With the Eraser, you can remove geometry no matter when you created it. The Eraser also enables you to manipulate your geometry by strategically removing lines or faces.

You find the Eraser () tucked into a few different areas of the SketchUp interface:

  • Getting Started toolbar
  • Drawing toolbar
  • Large Tool Set toolbar
  • Principal toolbar
  • Tool Palette (Mac OS X only)
  • Erase command on a context menu

Here are the ways you can use the Eraser:

  • Click an edge with the Eraser tool cursor. If you select the Eraser tool from any of the toolbars, you can click an edge to erase it and any faces it bounds. The Eraser tool doesn't allow you to erase faces. Technically, faces are erased after their bounding edges are erased, which enables you to open and otherwise reshape your geometry, as explained in this introduction to drawing basics. However, SketchUp does have a workaround — the context menu's Erase command.)
  • Delete a face with the context menu. To remove a single face, context-click the face and select Erase from the menu that appears.
  • Delete selected geometry. To delete several edges and faces at once, select all the geometry you want to erase, as shown in the following figure. Then context-click your selection and choose Erase. As you can see in the right-hand image, the selected faces have been deleted.

Need Help Fast?

SketchUp’s outstanding community of passionate experts have answers to your questions.